About Peck


Having a Solid Vision for the Future

Throughout our history, we have always believed in the importance of having a solid vision for the future, while never forgetting the crucial foundation of our past. Because at the heart of both always has been, and always will be, what’s best for our students.

List of 11 items.

  • 1893

    The School began as Miss Sutphen's School on Franklin Place in Morristown.
  • 1910s

    By 1916, 23 years after opening its doors, the school had grown to 100 students, nine teachers, and was recognized as one of the best private elementary schools in Morristown. Two years later, in 1918, it changed its name to The Peck School after its new leader, Mr. Lorraine T. Peck.
  • 1920s

    In 1920, the School moved from its original location on Franklin to a new home on property bought by Mr. Peck on Elm Street.
  • 1940s

    In 1944, Peck became a nonprofit corporation, comprised of parents and a Board of Trustees, with parents taking an active role in guiding the School’s policies and planning. In 1946, Peck officially adopted blue and white as its colors. And in 1948 the School completed its move to Lindenwold Mansion and the nine acres of land on which it’s situated.
  • 1950s

    In 1950, Peck initiated the Mother’s Association, which was followed in subsequent years by the establishment of parent-teacher conferences, Parents Visiting Day, the Student Council, and the Alumni Association. In 1956 the School finished construction of the new gymnasium-auditorium, and enrollment exceeded 200 students for the first time in its history. As a result of growing numbers, Peck decided in 1959 to split Fourth and Fifth Graders into two sections.
  • 1960s

    In 1960, Peck opened its new classroom building, which would serve as the new home to grades two, three, and four. From 1962 to 1965 the School began construction of new facilities for art, music, and science, and greatly expanded the library. And 1967 saw the first eighth grade class trip to Washington D.C. and the first Peck School Art Show.
  • 1970s

    In 1970, the School finished construction of the Field House, which would serve as the new athletic facility. In 1977, Peck launched the first annual Thanksgiving food drive for the Neighborhood House, and the following year hosted the first annual RSVP Christmas Sing for local senior citizens. 1978 also brought about the Outdoor Education Program, with Challenge Days for grades six, seven, and eight.
  • 1980s

    The early 1980s brought the computer to Peck, as well as new facilities dedicated to technology. In 1984, the School’s “Bridge” and fine arts wing were completed, offering space for group study in computers, woodworking, and foreign languages. And in 1986 the Mother’s Association became the Parents’ Association, a reflection of the growing participation by fathers as volunteers.
  • 1990s

    In 1993, Peck celebrated its 100th anniversary, and opened the new Deetjen Kindergarten Building. In 1995 the School completed construction of the new Caspersen-Tomlinson Upper School, which was followed in 1998 by the F.M. Kirby Family Lower School. The late 1990s also brought the implementation of the All-School Technology Plan, which made Peck a role model for integrating computers and laptops into the curriculum at the elementary level.
  • 2000s

    The InDeCoRe (Individual Development Community Responsibility) Program was introduced to promote positive character formation. In 2003, Peck launched a new campaign to raise $15.5 million to complete Phase I and II of the Peck Master Plan. The state-of-the-art Eckert-Huff Academic Building, as well as a new 32,000-square-foot Peck Athletic Center were completed during the 2006-2007 academic year. A new Strategic Plan was ratified by the Peck Board of Trustees in 2007.
  • 2010s

    Initiatives of the 2007 Strategic Plan was implemented including the Upper School Triple-Section Model.  In addition, improvements in the area of Marketing & Communications include the School's new tagline, Calling Bright Minds, and the launch of a redesigned Peck website. Peck received national award and recognition from the Center for Spiritual & Ethical Education (CSEE) for the School's InDeCoRe Program. A Lower School iPad Program launched in 2010.

A Brighter Legacy

When The Peck School was founded in 1893, its mission was clear… to provide the best possible education to local children. Under the name Miss Sutphen’s School—named for the teacher, Christine Sutphen—six students came through its doors in the first year.

Peck Traditions

A firm handshake, Kairos, Downy vs. Redhead, the Spring and Christmas Sings, World Cultures Nights, Consideration of Others...these are just a few of the rich traditions experienced by generations of Peck students.  These are qualities of the Peck experience that strengthen our community and our core values, and link together our history, our present, and our vibrant future.



247 South Street  |  Morristown, NJ
Northern New Jersey's timeless and transformative co-ed independent elementary and middle school education for grades K-8.